I believe in God, only I spell it Nature.

Although I’m from Chicago and consider myself somewhat of a “city girl” I still like nature. I like going on walks, and I don’t mind bugs (that much), and I don’t consider swimming up to a bar to be an outdoorsy experience.

However, I can’t recall ever really going on a hike- like up a mountain- like…the Pyrenees for example. Honestly, I didn’t even bring gym shoes to Spain. Not super outdoorsy giveaway # 1.

Hiking day one consisted of renting a car with 4 amigos and winding our way up and around the narrow roads of Navarra. We were headed towards a place called Urederra, which is a national park with very beautiful waterfalls. I wore yoga pants, a turtleneck from mango, a leapord scarf, a white fleece from Alcampo (supermarket…) and my leather jacket. Oh and my shoes-pretty orthopedic.

Outfit: heinous Background: forgiveable

So I was NOT prepared, but I really wanted to go and do something special with my weekend. So now- LOOK.

This way to beauty

No artificial coloring

In a "bowl" going up

You just have to go to know

So I survived the hike and we met some nice women from Zaragoza along the way that were kind enough to share their water, salad, sausage, chocolate….everything with us- since all we had was a block of sheep’s cheese that we bought in the parking lot and no knife.  So I think without that I may not have made it.

We wound our way back down the narrow roads, and my friends dropped me off at my place, and I went right to the shoe store a block away from my house and finally bought the gym shoes I’ve been eyeing for a few weeks. Then I was so happy about that purchase that I went and bought a puffy warm vest with a hood. Then I realized my birthday was approaching, and I bought a cute sweater dress at Mango. Woops. Did I mention this was all in preparation for another day of hiking, but this time in the Pyrenees? Minus the dress.

Bright and early the next morning we headed off towards Sallent de Gallego. It’s sort of a ski resort town, about 10k from France. A few hours and a few incorrect roundabouts later we made it and stopped for a hearty lunch before our hike.

I’ll let the photos explain the rest of the journey…

False advertising. No idea where this is exactly, but it was on the way to Sallent de Gallego

Actual arrival in Sallent de Gallego below…

Houses in the village. Perfect

Hiking boots, pssshhhh

I love that pop of color- and a little view of the village below.

I made it! Only slightly puffy ankles (cankles)

Did I mention we were really close to France?

Luckily I had a wonderful hiking buddy- also from Chicago- so we could huff and puff our way up a little more slowly than our expert friends. My legs were sore for the next 3 days, but I loved all of it. I feel like I could even do it again sometime soon. I could do the Camino de Santiago that passes through Logrono If I wanted to, and then walk back to my piso because i’m still not sold on the whole idea of camping. The city girl lives on.

Next post- how this city girl fell in love with another city, Milan.

besos

6 comments

  1. Wondrous adventure and your nature-loving grandma is smiling down at you. What beautiful photos –good job. Maybe you can take your papa on a nice little camino. Counting the days.
    love ya

  2. Looks so beautiful. Glad you got yourself some sensible hiking shoes. Love your pictures and observations. We will miss you at Thanksgiving and Christmas, but keep posting your adventures.

  3. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

Leave a Reply

