So this is the new year

“You must have been warned against letting the golden hours slip by; but some of them are golden only because we let them slip by.” 

I’m trying to wrap my mind around time right now. I think we all struggle with it’s passing.

I work a few hours a week, and sleep a few hours a night, so where are all those other hours supposedly in the day?  My time in Spain is not slipping by, it’s freaking bolting like a sorostitute from a frat house…..

Time is (my) life. I wonder if I’m young. I wonder if i’ll be happy staying in Spain, or just as happy going home and never eating ham wrapped in ham again.

Seriously.

 

This time last year I was starting my “adventure” of student teaching. I was anxious, excited, nervous, and always jealous of the people on my campus that were still real students. I was waking up everyday at 5 a.m or earlier and going to bed at midnight (I block out times that were any later).

That is what I’d be going back to (more or less). “Real” life.

But other great things happened in 2011 also.

I realized I could teach

AND love it

I graduated

I had an amazing summer

My friends grew up and got jobs and apartments

I went to Spain

 

I did other things of course, like nanny for the cutest boy EVER, go to cubs and sox games, hit up the farmers market with my parents, lost all the weight I gained from celebrating my graduation (yikes)…..

 

When planning a lesson, you try to work from back to front. I want my students to tell me about how they celebrated New Years. What do they need to know to tell me that? Past tense, some holiday vocabulary. la di da.

Some people live trying to think about what would go on their epitaph. Would mine say World traveler or am I done with that phase? Do I want it to say that? Maybe mother? Teacher? Friend? Lived life to the fullest?

Maybe I’m young, and maybe I’m not, but I sure am confused.  Here are my top two comforts on life, success and time; this video, and the Abe Lincoln quote.

 

“The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time.” 

 

besos y feliz ano nuevo

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

