Bon Iver wrote that song for you?

“The only things that the United States has given to the world are skyscrapers, jazz, and cocktails. That is all. And in Cuba, in our America, they make much better cocktails.” – Lorca

As a child, I was really into musicals. I loved My Fair Lady, Funny Girl, Bye Bye Birdie….on and on. In high school I went in a more sporty and less musical direction though. I just didn’t have the pipes. Although now I’m not sure why I don’t have a hit rap song about butts, oh baby, in da club…I’d be rollin in it.

My love for music never faltered though. Alert, I’m not a music snob. I don’t collect vinyls, and I don’t know the history of a lot of the artists I like. But for me, it’s just about the sounds and the feeling. It doesn’t shame me that I like some Britney and some Kanye, while I have some Jimi, Jim, and Eddie one playlist away.

So what kind of music do I like? Good music. I can’t even exclude opera or country because every now and then they surprise me with something beautiful.

Over the weekend I saw a beautiful movie called “Chico y Rita.” It’s about Cuba, and Jazz, and I’ll let this trailer speak more about it.

I never considered myself a Jazz fan. I associate it with parents, being boring, drinking wine and chatting. I guess I’ve grown up and now I do those things. Yikes!

Reflecting on my musical interests I just wanted to share some songs that I’ve been enjoying in Spain. Some are Spanish, and some are not, but I know that I will always remember where I was here in my Spanish life listening to them.

This guy has a very interesting voice, and I like….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ap1OoEDHYrM&ob=av2e

And last but not least….

This is not an exhaustive list, but I feel like the internet might explode if I add more.

Next weekend is Carnivale, and while I won’t be able to dress like this (more because of body type than cold I think), I will be enjoying whatever fun Logrono has to offer dressed as……until next time.

un beso

One comment

Leave a Reply

