The pizza! The pasta! The Sartorialist!

First of all http://www.thesartorialist.com/

I knew what I was up against long before I started packing 10 days worth of clothes into a ryanair sized suitcase. If you’re not sure what that means, it’s like half of a fun sized candy bar, that weighs less than the outer shell of an M & M.

It was also tricky because the weather wasn’t going to be as beautiful as I’d hoped in my dreams. In college I never did a wild “Spring Break” so I figured this was my exciting chance to have a fabulous vacation and soak up the Tuscan sun. HA.

I should throw in that anyone can visit Rome, Florence, and Venice, on a tiiiiggght budget, if you go camping. So yes, I went camping. The Sartorialist would not be chasing me down any cobblestone streets to ask what I was wearing. uff.

Day 1: See the Pope on Easter.

Vatican City, Cathedral. Happy Easter! Feliz Pascua!

I don’t necessarily have a physical checklist of awesome things I’d like to accomplish, or see in life, but I think it would be appropriate to start one now that I have seen the Pope, on Easter, in Rome. CHECK.

After listening to big poppa, we headed into the city to see what we could see- namely the Roman Forum, the various plazas (de Espana, de Navona), cafes for gelato, and the Colosseum.

kickin it by the Pantheon

Giolitti, celebrated since 1900

According to my handy favorite guidebook ever, this place had gelato. I’m sure so does just about every other cafe in Rome, but I trust the guidebooks and the crowd in and out of this place. If you’re in Rome in the Pantheon hood, check out Via Uffici del Vicario, 40.

For someone who doesn't love ice cream, that looks pretty good.

Plaza de Espana

MmmMMmm

The above pizza is from another place i’d really recommend going and waiting. Da Baffetto, Via del Governo Vecchio, 114. The waiters were funny and the pizza was perfection. I had no problem finishing off that entire plate.

Doing as the tourists do. Seeing the Colosseum.

Colosseum at night. And me. Thanks photographer Nicole.

A great tip that I got before this trip was to get tickets to the Roman Forum before the Colosseum. The forum is really cool, and you’ll want to go but the line is a lot less insane, and you can get your entrance for the Colosseum and another museum all at the same time for 12 euros.

Said dal 1923

One of my favorite areas in Rome was in Termini/Pigneto. It felt extra Italian, hippy-ish, and not super touristy. They had cool shops and not everyone spoke English, which was refreshing and then difficult all at once. As a chocolate LOVER I highly recommend Said dal 1923, Via Tiburtina, 135.

It’s like a museum of chocolate wonder. I bought myself 6 fancy chocolates and I ate them on the train later in the trip to Venice while the family in my cabin stared at me. They needed something to look at. Had to make them more jealous.

chocolate

My favorite thing about Rome was everything. I liked the people because they were polite- always saying good morning/afternoon, please and thank you. I liked how you could walk down the street and see something amazing unplanned and unguided. I liked how my guidebook lead me to some of the best pizza and gelato that i’ll ever eat. If I knew even the slightest bit of Italian I would go live there. It’s easy enough to read being so similar to Spanish, but I don’t know if I have the dramatic intonation, hand gestures, or vocabulary to survive a lifetime there.

Trevi Fountain

I also made a wish here which supposedly means you will return to the city. Since that wish was automatic, I made another wish and I think it’s coming true.

un beso

p.s, next up is Florence

One comment

Leave a Reply

