Wine not

There are a lot of lucky things about being a second year, and one of them is having friends in different regions of Spain to visit. Eliminating the possibility that Javier Bardem would see me and invite me to be his lover in Oviedo, I went anyways with home base in Gijon; a lush green coastal city with sidra, playa, Nicole, and getting fat all fabada long.

Fabada-dadada

Fabada-dadada

Every time I leave Logrono I get jealous that I don’t live in a city with a Corte Ingles, cooler buildings, more exciting nightlife, Mexican food, etc..but then I remember that I really like the school that I work at, my friends, and my easy simple life in La Rioja.

Contest: Logrono has really yummy wine, Gijon has yummy sidra. Wine not?! It’s a draw at this point.

I first tried sidra in San Sebastian, or at least somewhere near it. I remember a bus ride, walking up a hill, eating a dead animal, giant sidra barrels, hoping the bus would come back, napping on the bench and asking bus, bus? at the cafe nearby, and then doing a powerpoint about it and how I noticed Spaniards can’t not have a loaf of bread at any given moment. Basque sidra is different though. You don’t have to be a professional pour-er to drink it such as me….

I have terrible aim

I have terrible aim

Gijon was also nice and festive for us with lights, poinsettias, SANTA, and the Reyes magos.

santaaaaa

santaaaaa

nov-dec phone pics 043

 

nov-dec phone pics 093 nov-dec phone pics 164

Melchor, Gaspar, Balthasar!

Melchor, Gaspar, Balthasar!

nov-dec phone pics 044

Pomme cuite cafe! The cutest place with yummy breakfast items.

nov-dec phone pics 049 nov-dec phone pics 050 nov-dec phone pics 052

I’m not usually an impulse shopper. I’m not usually a shopper at all which sometimes shocks people since I’m pretty into fashion and cute stuff.  If i’m with my mom and sister, I find a seat next to the dads, boyfriends, and little brothers because I always like the idea of shopping more than the reality of it.

When I saw this hat in Corte Ingles, I had an immediate connection. As soon as I tried it on in the store I knew I would buy it. Then a man came up to me and I thought he was going to yell at me for wearing it around and taking pictures in it but he just wanted to know If I wanted a corte ingles card….I said I’m from Logrono….no hay corte ingles. Triste.

Just ignore my claw like hand and it’s not a bad picture.

nov-dec phone pics 053

 

 

These photos below are from Oviedo.

 

nov-dec phone pics 054 nov-dec phone pics 055 nov-dec phone pics 060 nov-dec phone pics 065 nov-dec phone pics 067

 

Woody Allen (boody, voody...)

Woody Allen (boody, voody…)

 

nov-dec phone pics 092

Incredible colors

Incredible colors

And back in Gijon a photo shoot for tourism.

gijon

 

I wish I had taken a few more pictures,  and written this blog sooner after the trip since I forgot a lot of details such as when we went to Oviedo …but I know I was too busy soaking up all the fun and beauty.

The funniest pictures might have been from our night out dancing where I was flailing so much that I could only drink water to keep myself going. Then when Gagnam style came up one boy brave enough to approach our group asked me where we were from….”because I know you’re not from here.”

Not trying to blend in by any means good sir.

I’m now in the final stretch before vacation and I’m so ready for Sevilla and some time with my parents. 2012 has been a nice year, but i think 2013 will be even better.

 

un beso

 

 

3 comments

  1. just went out to eat with joe and pat the other night and i ordered txocoli ?? (spelling) it was delicious and remembered how me you and laina ordered 2 bottles and started pouring it like we were out of control!!

Leave a Reply

