Leon and Carnaval

Some of my resolutions just re surfaced in my brain and I’m realizing I haven’t done too many of them.

Running hasn’t happened recently because I was sick for a whole week. My academy students coughing directly into my mouth and licking things that I later touch finally caught up with me. It also has been as cold as Chicago and snowy! Lovely snow. The kind that doesn’t stay on the ground and create black and gray mush.

Cooking. pfff. If you are my facebook friend you know the other day I had the idea to make a “poor crepe” Here is the recipe.

A flour tortilla

Some chocolate

Put the tortilla on a plate. Put the chocolate in the middle of the tortilla. Microwave it.

Serves 1 poor lazy person.

I haven’t actually made it yet, so don’t blame me if you try it and it’s terrible.

Also, the other day I guess I was in such a rush and or exhausted that I just dumped my cereal into my coffee. It was like hyper oatmeal.

 

Besides all of these terrible truths about myself, I’ve been doing well here in Spain teaching like a maniac. Keeping busy generally helps me avoid more pressing issues like my resume, my next year plan, my singledom. So does watching Top Chef, Girls, and Modern Family. The difference between this pathetic reality and the one I have back in the U.S is that I can take cool weekend trips to places like Leon.

It was Valentine’s day. Was I really going to stick around Logrono and eat myself to sleep when I could do that in another city?

I still had to take a bus at 4am but at least my hair was curled.

I still had to take a bus at 4am but at least my hair was curled.

Crazy sculptures

Crazy sculptures

IMG_2819

Gaudi

Gaudi

Cathedral

Cathedral

IMG_2829 IMG_2830

Vermouth. 1 euro. Giant spicy olive. Felicidad.

Vermouth. 1 euro. Giant spicy olive. Felicidad.

An apple chestnut soup from a Restaurante Vegeteriano. (In Spain!?) www.vegetarianoleon.com

An apple chestnut soup from a Restaurante Vegeteriano. (In Spain!?)
www.vegetarianoleon.com

Teenagers. I can't escape them!

Teenagers. I can’t escape them!

A thoughtful gift from our new teen friends.

A thoughtful gift from our new teen friends.

IMG_2872

Camino goes through here as well. A peregrino.

Camino goes through here as well. A peregrino.

Parador of Leon

Parador of Leon

Cecina

Cecina

MUSAC. I don't understand modern art anywhere.

MUSAC. I don’t understand modern art anywhere.

 

My friend Leslie was a great hostess and I loved Leon. I would totally go back if time could just create more of itself.

 

Before this random weekend adventure was Carnaval. Last year I was a hippie, and I decided to make use of that same blue fur coat I got on Rebajas to be the Twitter bird. A LOOSE interpretation of a bird at best. I did buy yellow toxic facepaint from a Chinese shop (Chino) to draw a beak on my face but It’s nowhere to be found.

So hip

So hip

Only in Spain could I guarantee finding yellow skinny jeans. In February.

Only in Spain could I guarantee finding yellow skinny jeans. In February.

Hello little hat

Hello little hat

Twitter, fortune teller, goth

Twitter, fortune teller, goth

Hey Dj

Hey Dj

Twitter, tree, matador, goth

Twitter, tree, matador, goth

tweet tweet!

tweet tweet!

It was a pretty tranquilo night since by the time it was appropriate to discoteca….we just wanted pizza and sleep. Plus the disco was jam packed so tight I couldn’t handle it. PLUS I saw some of my students. Wasted. Talk about a buzz kill. Who is the one that’s supposed to be partying? I think it’s me, but maybe i’m wrong.

 

Seeing my students back at school after a weekend like that wasn’t weird though. I don’t have any sort of traditional teacher role/relationship since as I’ve maybe mentioned I don’t give them grades, speak to their parents, or see them everyday. I’m grateful that the drinking age at home is 21. Sorry if you’re young and want to go to bars, but you can’t because your teachers need to get away from you on occasion.

 

I have a few more weeks of soaking up Logrono and getting some real life business done before two exciting trips.

1. St. Patrick’s day weekend: Lisbon (ya ya ya ya!)

2. Semana Santa (March 30-April 7): Budapest, Prague, Vienna

Yes, the girl who eats hyper oatmeal and creates fake websites in her head like poorfood.com, whatshouldido.com, teachyourself.com/imtired, etc… is actually super awesome. In terms of travel at least.

un beso

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

