Tondeluna: Foodgasm

False advertising, this is a place on Laurel! The Torre (tower of yummy)

False advertising, this is a place on Laurel! The Torre (tower of yummy)

Feliz final! a dessert pintxo

Feliz final! a dessert pintxo

People ask me all the time if I like Spanish food or American food more. First of all, I’m not sure what they mean when they ask me about American food- I’m assuming they mean hot dogs, hamburgers, and scrambled eggs. When I think of what I eat at home it’s more like Mexican food, Italian food, Chinese food, salmon, salad, yogurt, peanut butter, fruit, umm… normal things right? Does that make it American food? Sure than I like “American” food.

But I like the food here too because it’s food, and it’s good.

There are a number of restaurants around Logrono that I never got around to trying last year so I’m trying to make it to all of them.

One of them is Tondeluna, off the Espolon Plaza. It’s modern looking and cool. You sit at long tables with people you don’t know and you feel special for no reason.

http://tondeluna.com/node/1

I went with Drea to “celebrate” the end of our Chicago movie that still isn’t quite right but we needed a reason to have a fancy lunch.

I remember having two options for eating. You can do the tasting menu which is sampling  items from each of the 7 courses offered for 25 euros. No difference in price for week or weekend.  This is nice if you go with one other person and want to share a few things.

Or, you can also just order off the menu as you wish….

We did the sharing tasting option. Here was our experience.

Butter?!

Butter?!

jamon croquetas- super rico

jamon croquetas- super rico

I was determined to discover that an ensalada rusa could be great. It's fine.

I was determined to discover that an ensalada rusa could be great. It’s fine…never will be great.

wine

wine

IMG_2916

ensalada con tartar de tomate- salad with shrimp, garlic, yummm

ensalada con tartar de tomate- salad with shrimp, garlic, yummm

my date

my date

IMG_2926

some rissoto

some rissoto

IMG_2929 IMG_2931

pastel de chocolate- with olive oil. Olive oil and chocolate together is my life.

pastel de chocolate- with olive oil. Olive oil and chocolate together is my life.

IMG_2944 IMG_2947

 

 

The tasting menu was perfect and after eating all of that food we didn’t feel like we were going to explode. We didn’t feel super poor either. Every bite was totally worth it.

If you plan on going call and make a reservation especially if you go on the weekend because It’s pretty popular. At least that was the advice I got when I called.

Buen provecho, bon appetit, on egin, enjoy!

un beso

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

